Alan Frost wins National Book Prize

AAMH founding member Emeritus Professor Alan Frost wins the 2019 Broeze national maritime book prize with Mutiny, Mayhem, Mythology: Bounty’s Enigmatic Voyage.

Runners up for the prize include Joy McCann’s Wild Sea: A history of the Southern Ocean and an autobiography by Charlie Vernon: A life Underwater.


Joint AAMH and ANMM Maritime History Prizes

Writers, publishers and readers of maritime history are invited biennially to nominate works for maritime history prizes totalling $4,000, sponsored jointly by the Australian Association for Maritime History (AAMH) and the Australian National Maritime Museum (ANMM).

Both prizes reflect the wish of the two sponsoring organisations to promote a broad view of maritime history that demonstrates how the sea and maritime influences have been more central to the shaping of Australia, its people and its culture than has commonly been believed.

NOMINATIONS FOR 2019 - CLOSED: For details visit Frank Broeze

The Frank Broeze Memorial Maritime History Book Prize is named in honour of Frank Broeze who died in April of 2001. Professor Frank Broeze was one of the founders of AAMH. He served as President of the Association in the 1980s and was the first editor of the Association's journal The Great Circle. He was widely respected as a maritime historian and university teacher.

The 2017 competition was the nineth joint prize for a maritime history book awarded by the two organisations. The first was won by Marsden Hordern for Mariners are Warned (Melbourne University Press, 1989), a study of the explorer of Australian coasts John Lort Stokes.

A reinvigorated prize was inaugurated in 2002 and has been awarded to:-

  • 2015 - David Stevens for In All Respects ready - Australia's Navy In World War One (Oxford University Press, 2014).
  • 2013 - Iain McCalman won the prize for Darwin's Armada – How four voyagers to Australasia won the battle for evolution and changed the world (Penguin Australia, 2009); 
  • 2009 - Professor John Gascoigne for Captain Cook: Voyager Between Worlds (Hambledon Continuum, London 2007);
  • 2007 - Dr Edward Duyker OAM for François Péron – An Impetuous Life: naturalist and voyager (Miegunyah Press, 2006);
  • 2004 - Jean Fornasiero, Peter Monteath and John West-Sooby for Encountering Terra Australis: the Australian voyages of Nicolas Baudin and Matthew Flinders (Wakefield Press, Kent Town SA, 2004); and
  • 2002 - Dr Leone Huntsman for her social history Sand in our Souls: the beach in Australian history (Melbourne University Press, 2001).

The Australian Community Maritime History Prize was introduced in 2011 and is awarded to a regional or local museum or historical society for a publication (book, booklet, educational resource kit or other media) relating to an aspect of maritime history of that region or community.

The inaugural Australian Community Maritime History Prize was awarded to the Lady Denman Heritage Complex, Huskisson, for Peter Crabb’s Shipping and Shipwrecks – Stories from Jervis Bay and its Neighbouring Coasts (2010).

Runners up included Wauchope District Historical Society for Ray Cooper and Lynda Turner’s The Sinking of Wollongbar II (2010) and Flagstaff Hill Maritime Village, Warrnambool for Dr Ron Sproston’s The Peacock that became a Legend – The Story of the Loch.