Joint AAMH and ANMM Maritime History Prizes

Writers, publishers and readers of maritime history are invited biennially to nominate works for maritime history prizes totalling $10,000, sponsored jointly by the Australian Association for Maritime History (AAMH) and the Australian National Maritime Museum (ANMM).

Both prizes reflect the wish of the two sponsoring organisations to promote a broad view of maritime history that demonstrates how the sea and maritime influences have been more central to the shaping of Australia, its people and its culture than has commonly been believed.

The Frank Broeze Memorial Maritime History Book Prize

This prize is named in honour of Professor Frank Broeze who died in April 2001. Professor Frank Broeze was a co-founder of AAMH who served as President of the Association in the 1980s, was the first editor of the Association's journal The Great Circle, and wrote a number of articles and books including Island Nation: A history of Australians and the sea (Allen & Unwin, 1998). He was greatly respected as a maritime historian and university teacher.

Past winners of the Frank Broeze Memorial Maritime History Book Prize are:


Ian Hoskins 

Australia & the Pacific: A History (2021, NewSouth Publishing, Sydney)


Anita Herle and Jude Philp (Eds)

Recording Kastom: Alfred Haddon's Journals from the Torres Strait and New Guinea (Sydney University Press 2020)

2019 Alan Frost
Mutiny, Mayhem, Mythology: Bounty’s enigmatic journey (Sydney University Press, 2018)
2017 Klaus Neumann
Across the Seas: Australia's response to refugees (Black Inc, 2015)
2015 David Stevens
In All Respects ready - Australia's Navy In World War One (Oxford University Press, 2014)
2013 John Ogden
Saltwater People of the Broken Bay and Saltwater People of the Fatal Shore (Cyclops Press, Sydney)
2011 Iain McCalman
Darwin's Armada – How four voyagers to Australasia won the battle for evolution and changed the world (Penguin Australia, 2009)
2009 Professor John Gascoigne
Captain Cook: Voyager Between Worlds (Hambledon Continuum, London 2007)
2007 Dr Edward Duyker OAM
François Péron – An Impetuous Life: naturalist and voyager (Miegunyah Press, 2006)
2004 Jean Fornasiero, Peter Monteath and John West-Sooby
Encountering Terra Australis: the Australian voyages of Nicolas Baudin and Matthew Flinders (Wakefield Press, 2004)
2002 Dr Leone Huntsman
Sand in our Souls: the beach in Australian history (Melbourne University Press, 2001)
2000 Marsden Hordern
Mariners are Warned: John Lort Stokes and HMS Beagle in Australia 1837-1843 (Melbourne University Press, 1989)

The Australian Community Maritime History Prize 

It was introduced in 2011 and is awarded to a regional or local museum or historical society for a publication (book, booklet, educational resource kit or other media) relating to an aspect of maritime history of that region or community.

The inaugural Australian Community Maritime History Prize was awarded to the Lady Denman Heritage Complex, Huskisson, for Peter Crabb’s Shipping and Shipwrecks – Stories from Jervis Bay and its Neighbouring Coasts (2010).

Past winners of the Australian Community Maritime History Prize are:


Ian Ferrier

John Oxley Odyssey: The life and times of a 1927 steamer (2022)

2021 Graeme Broxam (Ed) Tasmanian Piners' Punts: Their history and design (Wooden Boat Guild of Tasmania 2020)
2019 Naval Historical Society of Australia
2017 Western Australian Museum and Albany Community Reference Group
Yurlmun: Mokare Mia Boodja (Returning to Mokare’s Home Country)
2013 Mornington Peninsula Art Gallery
Sea of Dreams: The lure of Port Phillip Bay 1830–1914
2011 Lady Denman Heritage Complex, Huskisson
Peter Crabb’s Shipping and Shipwrecks – Stories from Jervis Bay and its Neighbouring Coasts